It’s the Gamer in me

03/28/2010 at 12:30 PM (Informational, WoW) ()

Time for another Pop-Culture post! This one will be a bit longer than the last since I have a couple more examples than I did for the Disney theme. Today’s theme: Games.

The first reference I stumbled upon occurred while browsing through possible achievements. I tend to do that while waiting for a dungeon to Q up. I spotted the achievement ‘Alone in the Darkness‘ and, after some curious searching, discovered it’s connection with two things. The first, of course, is the video game Alone in the Dark. The second was Lovecraft, upon whose stories Alone in the Dark was based.

While we’re on the subject of achievements, I should also mention the variety of them that begin with the phrase ‘I choose you…’ taken, of course, from everyone’s favorite card game: Pokemon. Another Pokemon reference can be found in the Borean Tundra in the form of a quest giver named Mootoo the Younger. I’m sure you can figure it out.

Another Blizzard game I played in the past was Diablo. Granted, I didn’t play long, but I still managed to get the basics down before losing my opportunity to play any longer (oh how I miss High School… ). I wasn’t surprised, while browsing the pop culture refs, to see Diablo under the list. According to WoWWiki there is a cave in Borean Tundra housing a monster by the name of Kaganishu. For those who played Diablo, you will recall the Fallen character Rakanishu in DiabloII. Followers of both scream the names of their leader as they enter any battle.

Got a love in WoW and you want to buy them some nice flowers? Head to Dalaran and look up the flower vender, Aerith Primrose. Rumor has it she is based on a flower vender from Final Fantasy VII with the same first name.

Back to the subject of achievements, the cooking achievement “The Cake is a Lie” is taken from the popular video game ‘Portal.’ There is also a book somewhere around Dalaran that directly references the motto of the game ‘Now you’re thinking with portals’.

The Sewer Shark in Dalaran is referencing the game of the same name (hooray rhymes!) for Sega Genesis way back in the day.

Another Blizz game referenced in WoW is ‘Starcraft.‘ According to wowwiki, Scourgelord Tyrannus in Pit of Soron, yells “Power… Overwhelming” which references the same phrase  used in Starcraft from the Protoss Archon unit and is used for the cheatcode for invincibility.

And that concludes today’s Pop Culture reference entry on Games. You will find I don’t put in everything referencing games and mainly it is because if I haven’t heard of it, I don’ t honestly care :-p All information is provided by WoWWiki and is referenced from there. I claim no knowledge of these things without the help of the list provided me 🙂

Until next time!

/kiss

~Kai~

Leave a Reply

